Rest in Paradise Karyn Washington, Founder of For Brown Girls

Karyn Washington

I woke up this morning with my heart still heavy for a 22-year-old girl I never met. Last evening, I learned Karyn Washington, Creative Founder of For Brown girls, an online inspiration destination and the #darkskinredlip project, passed away.

Sometime last year while scrolling through my Instagram feed I came across the #darkskinredlipproject. I was instantly excited and incredibly inspired by Karyn’s innovative bold new way to spark conversation and inspire change around this colorism issue that many african american women struggle with daily.

The #Darkskinredlipproject, invited women with darker skin tones to submit pictures  of themselves wearing a red lip to combat colorism.

#Darkskinredlipproject

As soon as you landed on her website, you could instantly feel that this platform uplifted a multitude of women of darker skin to feel proud about their shades and embrace color.  From MAC, Ruby Woo to Mary’s Kay Russian Rudes, my beautiful brown beauties finally had a place to outshine!

I love a badass social movement that not only sparks change but pisses the right people off. It truly empowers me to challenge myself.

In fact, I keep a personal journal of “Rebels, Revolutionaries & Rulebreakers” who have defied conventional wisdom to define their own success and connect to something much larger than themselves. Karen definitely fit this mold.

I always say, social media is a double-edged sword. It has the ability to  positively change lives and destroy it, with the hands that chooses to use it to hide their pain.

Karyn’s unfortunate death at such a young age, got me thinking…..We should all ask ourselves:

”Are you building a legacy that will outlive you?”

In 2012, Karyn did an interview for Mademnoire:

“I would like for ‘FBG’ to be a catalyst for change encouraging self-love and instilling pride in one’s skin complexion. The movement’s goal will be for new generations of darker skinned girls to not even have one thought of wishing to be lighter, to never doubt their beauty.

My hope is for this “issue” to eventually be nonexistent but it does start with us. I’m also hoping I can do my part and make a change to where , darker skinned girls know they are beautiful no matter what anyone says”

Karyn’s passing has prompted an outpouring of love and support via my Twitter and IG feeds. So I say, mission accomplished!

There is something to be said about a young girl who could build a legacy that impacts so many women. Rest In Paradise, Beautiful. You will be missed. Thank YOU for empowering so many women to love themselves unconditionally. You can also check out Karyn’s tumblr here.

2 responses to “Rest in Paradise Karyn Washington, Founder of For Brown Girls

  1. Well said. I too, did not know Karyn Washington, but I feel profound tragedy of her young demise; she was truly beautiful! Heartfelt condolences to her family and friends.

  2. Likewise.So very sad.I am still amazed by the legacy she’s left with the Darkskinredlipproject. Thanks so much for your response!

Leave a comment